SEAC Award Winners announced at Banquet

The annual South East Athletic Club banquet was held at Higdon Hall on Friday, March 17th. The evening featured speeches from the coaching staffs of the Bantam AAA, Midget 15 and Midget AAA clubs, SEAC President Terry Bartman as well as a keynote presentation from Alberta Sport Development Council - South East coordinator Cory Coehoorn.

Coehoorn, whose lengthy list of athletic accomplishments include a Canadian university football career and a reign as Canada’s national weightlifting champion, spoke to the parents and athletes assembled about a number of topics, and praised SEAC for its involvement with the Athlete Enhancement Program administered through the Medicine Hat College.

The highlight of the evening, however, was no doubt the announcement of the individual award winners, which saw several happy players finish the night an armful of hardware.

Graduating players from the Midget AAA program were also given Tigers jerseys to take with them as they endeavour along the next stage of their athletic journey. A special thank you to Sports Connection Source For Sports and Customs Print and Stitch for their sponsorship of the jerseys.

Here are the 2016-17 SEAC award winners:


MVP: Caleb Irvine

Top Defenseman: Caleb Irvine

Top Forward: Caleb Wyrostok

Most Dedicated: Caleb Irvine


MVP: Matt Lafferty

Top Defenseman: Peyton Cox

Top Forward: Brayden Larochelle

Most Dedicated: Dax Wandler

Riley Martin Memorial: Carson Dingwall


Brent Reid Memorial Award – MVP: Spencer Chapman

Top Forward: Spencer Chapman

Most Points: Spencer Chapman

Most Dedicated: Noah Irvine

Top Defenseman: Eric Welford

Ed Taylor – Players’ Choice: Josh Kroon

Rookie of the Year: Chandler Aleman

Unsung Hero: Tucker Evans

SEAC Graduating Players

Logan Larock

Nelson Schiller

Eric Welford

Josh Schafer

Nathan Kartusch

Charlie Risk

Ty Budai

Colton Cameron

Austin Strang

Tucker Evans

Noah Irvine

Liam Stalwick

Spencer Chapman

The South East Athletic Club would once again like to thank the many sponsors and volunteers who make each hockey season possible. The organization looks forward to working with our sponsors once again next year to help Medicine Hat and area elite players reach their hockey goals.